Newsletter 09/17/2021 
Henle Logo mit Claim
Dear Reader,
Camille Saint-Saëns will be taking centre stage in 2021 – in December we are commemorating the 100th anniversary of his death. Our catalogue now contains more than 20 Urtext editions of his works, and this year we are paying homage to the great French composer with a newly published edition of his famous Carnaval des animaux – the Carnival of the Animals.
Visit our website to see the wide range of concertos and chamber music works that Saint-Saëns composed. It’s worth popping by from time to time over the coming weeks to see what’s happening!
With very best wishes

Dr. Wolf-Dieter Seiffert
Managing Director
Facebook YouTube Instagram 

A grand zoological fantasy
Camille Saint-Saëns
Le Carnaval des animaux
Editor: Ernst-Günter Heinemann
Urtext Edition, Parts, paperbound
HN 939
Written in March 1886 as a humorous occasional work for a traditional carnival concert, the Carnival of the Animals was so successful that Saint-Saëns banned performances and publication soon afterwards. He was worried that this “grand zoological fantasy” might overshadow his serious works. Yet only five months after the composer’s death, it appeared in print after all, beginning its worldwide victory march. Thus, it did in fact arguably become the most popular work by the French composer and, owing to its musical originality, it is also a favourite in music lessons or for school orchestra performances. With this combination of a study edition and an edition in parts we now present the perfect resource for such occasions.
€ 39.–
New publications for piano
Johann Sebastian Bach
Six Partitas BWV 825-830
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 518 (replaces HN 28)
€ 22.–
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Sonata C major Hob. XVI:48
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1535
€ 9.–
Joseph Haydn
Little early Sonatas
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1504 (replaces HN 645)
€ 15.–
New publications for strings
Jean-Louis Duport
21 Etudes for Violoncello
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1132
€ 22.–
Richard Strauss
Violoncello Sonata F major op. 6
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1469
€ 25.–
New publications for chamber music
Robert Schumann
Fantasy Pieces op. 88 for Piano Trio
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1525
€ 22.50
New publications for voice
Richard Strauss
Eight Poems op. 10
Urtext Edition, High Voice, paperbound
HN 1458
€ 17.50
Evgeny Kissin
Thanatopsis op. 4 for female voice and piano
Urtext Edition, paperbound
HN 1487
€ 17.–
New study scores
Camille Saint-Saëns
Le Carnaval des animaux
Urtext Edition, Study score (pocket score), paperbound
HN 9939
€ 14.–
Joseph Haydn
Symphony B flat major Hob. I:102 (London Symphony)
Urtext Edition, Study score (pocket score), paperbound
HN 9070
€ 13.–
Joseph Haydn
Symphony E flat major Hob. I:103 (Drumroll) (London Symphony)
Urtext Edition, Study score (pocket score), paperbound
HN 9071
€ 14.–
News from the publishing house
Interview with Pascal Rogé on his 70th birthday
“Fingerings are like shoes – one size doesn’t fit all!” In an interview on the occasion of his 70th birthday, Pascal Rogé quoted his equally famous teacher Lucette Descaves and discussed a variety of topics with our CEO Dr Wolf-Dieter Seiffert. His friendship with the great French composers, Urtext editions, teaching, optimism in our current times – as well as renovating his house. Bon anniversaire!
» Video with Pascal Rogé
» Fingerings by Pascal Rogé in Henle Urtext
The winners of the Henle Piano Competition
426 young pianists from 35 different countries eagerly took part in this year’s Henle Piano Competition, each playing a movement of a piano sonata by Joseph Haydn. This is by far the largest number of entries that we have ever had in the Henle Piano Competition’s ten-year history.
We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to all of the children for taking part so enthusiastically! After a thorough review of all of the entries, the jury decided to double the number of prizes awarded due to the large number of exceptional contributions.
» All of the winners of this year’s Henle Piano Competition
Henle Blog – the latest posts
» Schubert’s Wanderer Fantasy
» Mozart’s three popular “Quartet-Divertimenti”
» Bach’s harpsichord concertos
» Interview with Pascal Rogé
About us   |   Legal Information   |   Terms and conditions   |   Shipping costs